Various - The Thing That Ate Floyd

Various - The Thing That Ate Floyd

mp3: 1522 mb. | flac/ape: 1374 mb

Singer: Various
Album title: The Thing That Ate Floyd
Category: Rock
Rating: 4.4 ✦
Info: Label: Lookout! Records ‎– #11
Type: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Repress, Orange Jacket
Country: US
Date of released: 1992
Category: Rock
Style: Hardcore, Punk

Download links

Various - The Thing That Ate Floyd
MP3 version

1374 downloads at 31 mb/s

Various - The Thing That Ate Floyd
FLAC version

1522 downloads at 29 mb/s

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Skin Flutes* Straight Edge Song 3:23
A2 East Bay Mud Win Or Lose
Bass – Rich GarganoGuitar, Vocals – Jean Repetto
A3 Corrupted Morals Big Man
Engineer – Andy Ernst
A4 Neighborhood Watch Gloria
Engineer – Randy Fuelle
A5 Tommy Rot Not One Of Mine 2:14
A6 Cringer Cottleston Pie 1:06
A7 Boo! Hiss! Pfftlb! Bananas Smell Funny Sonata In G 2:30
A8 Eyeball The Incredibly Blue Moustache Of Mr. Tinselteeth
Bass – Mike QuillinDrums – Shawn AveryRecorded By – Jonathan BurnsideVocals – David Duran
A9 Isocracy Happy Now 1:46
B1 Kamala & The Karnivores 29° 2:30
B2 Bitch Fight On And On 1:36
B3 Plaid Retina Tied / Tried
Engineer – Gray Gregson
B4 Neurosis Common Inconsistencies
Bass, Vocals – Dave EdwardsonDrums – Jason James Guitar, Vocals – Chad Salter, Scott Kelly
B5 Complete Disorder We Must Do Something Now
Bass – Mike Levin Drums – Steve KorbayGuitar – Steve MerrittMixed By – Alex SergayVocals – Danny Colombo
B6 Well Hung Monks Product Of Misdirection 3:14
B7 Swollen Boss Toad Broken Strings 2:29
B8 Vomit Launch Life Sucks
Bass, Keyboards [Casio], Jew's Harp – Lawrence CraneDrums – Steve BraggEngineer – Greg FreemanGuitar – Lindsey ThrasherVocals, Viola – Patricia de Rowland
C1 Relief Society Abandoned Beer Messiah 2:38
C2 The Mr. T Experience Boredom Zone
Bass – Byron*Engineer – Greg FreemanGuitar – Jon Von*Vocals, Guitar – Dr. Frank
C3 Sewer Trout Vagina Envy 2:32
C4 Vagrants No Way Back 2:01
C5 Sweet Babys Andorra 1:38
C6 Stikky Don't Lick My Leg 0:19
C7 No Use For A Name What!?!
Bass – Steve PapoutsisDrums – Rory KoffEngineer – Andy ErnstGuitar – Tony SlyVocals – Chris Dodge
C8 Surrogate Brains Extreme Racial Pride
Bass – Steve "Phlibo" RogersDrums – John CruzEngineer – Gary YoungGuitar – Dennis Talley Vocals – Kendon Smith
C9 Lookouts Outside
Bass, Vocals – Kain KongDrums, Vocals – Tre CoolGuitar – Lawrence Livermore
D1 Capitol Punishment Jackknifed Rig
Engineer – Gray Gregson
D2 Crimpshrine Summertime
Drums – Aaron CometbusVocals, Guitar – Jeff Ott
D3 Spent In My Past 3:05
D4 Raskul Change 2:17
D5 Tribe Of Resistance Contraversy 1:40
D6 Nuisance Day Of Sun
Engineer – Jeff Landen
D7 Operation Ivy Hangin' Out
Bass – Matt Freeman Drums – Dave MelloEngineer – Radley HirschGuitar, Backing Vocals – Tim ArmstrongVocals – Jesse Michaels
D8 Steel Pole Bath Tub Bee Sting
Producer – Steel Pole Bath Tub


  • Artwork By – Twist
  • Compilation Producer, Edited By, Artwork By – David Hayes
  • Edited By – Alex Sergay
  • Engineer – Alex Sergay (tracks: A1, A2, A5, A7, A9, B1, B2, B4, B7, C1, C4, C9, D3, D5), Kevin Army (tracks: C5, C6, D2)
  • Mastered By – John Golden


This compilation was released to showcase Bay Area punk bands that were playing at Berkeley's Gilman Street Project in the late 1980s.

Original first-pressing has Lookout's old Laytonville address on it and a blue jacket. 4000 copies were pressed on black vinyl. Released with a 24-page newsprint booklet with info on the bands and lyrics. The booklet claims the first 50 copies were pressed on orange vinyl, however this is not true.

Repressed by Lookout as a 2xLP with a pink jacket in 1992. Repressed again with an orange jacket (this version). Re-issued on CD in February, 2002 by Lookout!

From included booklet:
Tribe of Resistance, Spent, Lookouts, Vagrants, Relief Society, Bitch Fight, Swollen Boss Toad, Neurosis, Kamala & The Karnivores, Isocracy, Skin Flutes, Boo! Hiss! Pfftlb!, Tommy Rot, and East Bay Mud were recorded, mixed, clothed, and fed at Sergays Recording Emporium in Berkeley. They were engineered by the ever patient Alex Sergay.

Corrupted Morals and No Use For A Name were done at Art Of Ear [sic] studio in S.F. engineered by Andy.
Eyeball was recorded at Razors Edge in S.F. Knobs twisted by Jonathan. Crimpshrine, Stikky and Sweet Baby were engineered by Kevin Army. Crimp and Stikky at Dancing Dog in Emeryville, S.B. at the late Dangerous Rhythm by the Fruitvale BART station. Nuisance engineered by Jeff Landen at Vinyl Taco in Arcata. Vomit Launch and the Mr. T Experience engineered by Greg at Lowdown Studios in S.F. Sewer Trout and Well Hung Monks were done at Underground Studio in Sacramento and then mixed at S.R.E. engineered by Frank. Cringer was recorded at LMU which is some school down south. Operation Ivy was done at Gilman and Points West by Radley and Mark. Plaid Retina and Capitol Punishment engineered by Gray Gregson at A.I.R. in Fresno. Neighborhood Watch engineered by Randy at Hit Single in San Diego. Assisted by Pedro. Steelpole Bathtub was recorded at Milk Cult in S.F. abd produced by the band. Surrogate Brains engineered by Gary Young at Louder Than You Think Studios in Stockton. Raskul was done somewhere in the East Bay. Complete Disorder was recorded in the North Bay and then mixed by Alex at Dancing Dog.

Edited at S.R.E. in October '88 in about seven hours by Alex and David. Mastered in November by the incredibly understanding John Golden at KDisc in Hollywood. Hotel Accommadations [sic] courtesy of Cringer Motor Lounge and Flipside Inn. Processed (I'm still not sure just what processing entails) at Greg Lee Processing. Labels printed by Max at G&M Graphics. Pressed at Alberti by Frank or John or John Jr. Covers printed by Stoughton. Booklets by Lakeport. Skankin' folks and logos on the cover by Twist. All other cover, label, and booklet art and layout by David Hayes (that's me). Band 1/2 pagers by the bands, though many were submitted in very interesting sizes and I had to modify and/or mutilate them accordingly. Lots of bands should have been on here, but just imagine trying to organize this mess, and you might better understand why bands like M.D.C., Tally Hoe, Reason to Believe, Offspring, Jackson Saints, Crummy Musicians, all the great Santa Rosa bands and so on and so forth didn't quite fit on. Blah blah etc. etc. etc. etc.

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
Lookout 011 Various The Thing That Ate Floyd ‎(2xLP) Lookout! Records Lookout 011 US 1988
#11 Various The Thing That Ate Floyd ‎(2xLP, Comp, RP, Pin) Lookout! Records #11 US 1992
Lookout 011 Various The Thing That Ate Floyd ‎(2xLP, Ltd, Ora) Lookout! Records Lookout 011 US 1992
Lookout 011 Various The Thing That Ate Floyd ‎(2xLP, Gre) Lookout! Records Lookout 011 US 1992
Lookout 011 2xCD Various The Thing That Ate Floyd ‎(2xCD, Comp, RE) Lookout! Records Lookout 011 2xCD US 2002


Download link Various - The Thing That Ate Floyd